250 News - Your News, Your Views, Now

October 28, 2017 3:46 am

UNBC Alumnus Now Chairs Board of Governors

Saturday, June 20, 2015 @ 6:32 PM
UNBC President Daniel Weeks congratulates new board chair Ryan Matheson on Saturday.  Photo 250 News

UNBC President Daniel Weeks (left) congratulates new board chair Ryan Matheson on Saturday. Photo 250 News

Prince George, B.C. – The University of Northern B.C. has, for the first time in its quarter century history, named one of its graduate students as the new chair of the UNBC Board of Governors.  The announcement was made Saturday at the university’s 25th anniversary celebration.

Ryan Matheson has been a provincially-appointed alumni representative on the board for over four years and has been vice-chair since 2013. He replaces outgoing board chair John Turner, who has served in the position since 2012.

Matheson earned a Bachelor of Arts in Resource-Based Tourism from UNBC in 1999, then forged a successful career in the hospitality industry. He is currently the Manager, Strategic Accounts for Hyatt Hotels Corporation at the company’s offices in Vancouver. He is also a Partner with Vancouver-based Matheson Resources.

Matheson was the President of the Alumni Association of UNBC from 1999-2001 and served as an alumni representative on the UNBC Senate from 2000-02. He first attended UNBC as a student in 1994, the year that UNBC opened with full operations. He was also employed by UNBC as a student recruitment officer.

Matheson says “it is an honour to continue my involvement with UNBC and to become the first alumnus to be selected as the Chair of the Board of Governors.  I am excited to be part of setting the direction of UNBC as we begin our next quarter century of delivering high-quality education.”

The 15-member UNBC Board of Governors is responsible for the financial oversight of the University. It includes the UNBC Chancellor, President, eight members appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council, and five elected by the University community (two students, two faculty, and one non-faculty).


Comments for this article are closed.