250 News - Your News, Your Views, Now

October 28, 2017 12:08 am

100th Anniversary Committee Honoured

Monday, February 22, 2016 @ 3:46 AM
l-r Donovan Unruh, Trelle Morrow, Lynn Bailey (behind) Mercedes DuBois, Mike Collins    photo submitted

l-r Donovan Unruh, Trelle Morrow, Lynn Bailey (behind) Mercedes DuBois, Mike Collins      photo courtesy Prince George Public Library

Prince George, BC – The committee responsible for the many events celebrating the city’s centennial last year has been honoured for its efforts…

The Select Committee on Prince George’s 100th Anniversary Celebration was awarded the 2016 Jeanne Clarke Award for Service at the public library’s annual local history awards banquet.

In handing out the award, the library’s Board of Directors noted that more than 95-thousand people had participated in the 60-plus events promoted and sponsored by the 100th Anniversary Committee over the course of 2015.

And, for just the second time in the 31-year history of the awards, there were two recipients of the Jeanne Clarke Award for Publication.

Author, Debra Komar, was honoured for her book, “The Bastard of Fort Stikine: The Hudson’s Bay Company and the Murder of John McLoughlin Jr.”  The book draws on Komar’s experience as a forensic anthropologist to investigate the murder of the chief trader at Fort Stikine in 1842.

And Prince George architect, Trelle Morrow, received his third award for his ongoing contributions to local history.  This year, it was his book, “Living Legacies: 100 Years of Prince George Architecture,” being noted.

The annual awards are named in honour of long-time city resident, Jeanne Clarke, who was one of the founding members of the library’s Local History Committee.



Comments for this article are closed.