250 News - Your News, Your Views, Now

October 27, 2017 8:21 pm

Mayor and Council Salute Citizens of the Year

Wednesday, November 9, 2016 @ 6:16 PM

Prince George, B.C.-  Prince George Mayor Lyn Hall  kicked off this evening’s meeting of Council   with special recognition  to the  people chosen  as the 2016 “Citizens of the Year”.

On behalf of  Council,  Mayor Hall  thanked the six  who  were  awarded  the title.

( at right,  recipients pose with Mayor and  Council)20161109_1813571

Ann Hilikowski, Lorraine Hilland and Karen Underhill  have been recognized for making a different in the lives of many local women through their work with the Phoenix Transition Society, the B.C. Schizophrenia Society and Meals on Wheels.

Trelle Morrow for his efforts in preserving and educating on the rich history and heritage of our community.

Cindy Smith for her work as an educator and volunteer motivating and developing tomorrow’s leaders.

Nowell Senior for his tireless efforts and involvement in the development of The Ancient Forest as a provincial park and its declaration as a UNESCO World Heritage Site

In offering congratulations for their achievements the Mayor  said “You are the peolpe who  drive this community.”



Comments for this article are closed.