250 News - Your News, Your Views, Now

October 27, 2017 5:22 pm

Two Winners of New Community Champion Award in P.G.

Tuesday, May 30, 2017 @ 10:15 AM

Prince George B.C. – Winners of a  new award  in Prince  George  which recognizes individuals  and organizations that  have  made  significant contributions to  the community  have been announced.

The  winners of the  new “Community Champion Award”  are Mike Burt, a long-time volunteer with the RCMP Community Policing Unit, and Jamie Kranrod, past-president of the Blackburn Community Association.

The two  will be honoured at the annual Civic Appreciation awards  Dinner that will be held at the  prince George  Conference and Civic Centre  on June 23rd.

The New Community Champion Award  recognizes  those who  have  attracted new volunteers, enhanced programs or services,  championed a new or innovative idea,   called people to action, developed an innovative  and successful  fundraising campaign  or provided exceptional volunteerism to a one-time cause or event.

The other awards to be presented June 23rd  are as follows:

  • Recreation & Culture Award – Recognition of individuals who have contributed or are still contributing significantly to the development of recreation or culture in Prince George in disciplines such as recreation, sport, culture, visual arts, and performing arts for a minimum of five years. Winners: Greg Pocock, June Berreth, and Yiqun (Ian) Ying.
  • Community Service Award – Recognition of individuals who have contributed or are still contributing significantly to the development of Community Services in Prince George for a minimum of five years. A community service is defined as service which aids people in need and which affects portions of the community.  (Examples: support groups, services for the disabled, counseling groups, food banks). Winners: Jay Khatra and Ruth Walter.
  • Outstanding Volunteer Award – Recognition of individuals who are outstanding volunteers. They have contributed or are still contributing to the development of the community of Prince George by volunteering their time to a number of organizations, groups, or disciplines. These volunteers have gone above and beyond the call of duty and have provided exemplary volunteer service. They must have volunteered for a minimum of 15 years in various organizations, groups, or disciplines. Winners: Tamara Sweet, Robin Norman, and John Vogt.
  • Youth of the Year Award – Recognition of youth attending school in Prince George and between the ages of 13 and 18 years old. The individual must have shown school involvement (including average or above average academic standing, extracurricular activities, and volunteer committees) and must have made significant contributions in the community (outside of school) through volunteering. Winner: Lila Mansour. Honourable Mentions: Mohamed Shubair and Zachary Bundock.


Comments for this article are closed.